And for the equipment, when necessary, we make a big order for every student so it's cheaper. Instead of concentrating to my moves I should try to perform them in Rhythm. ichimonji, Sep 26, 2011 #16. A McDojo is a martial arts school that is created for the purpose of making money. If you hire a teacher to teach you the piano, you can easily hear and see their abilities and determine a level of knowledge. 4) They plug Facebook over the Website as an advertisement 80. In fact he made some money, because we gave him some on last Christmas (on a voluntary basis), we all gave something. I started learning Karate in 2009 and I attained 1st dan in 2013. Luckily many dojos have managed to adapt and avoid becoming McDojos. Here are a few ways to spot one: For starters, the academy should not be staffed by employees with low belt ranks. Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment. I go to a non mcdojo called Karate Do Harmonie. Before I signed up the kids got to take a class for free and they didnt say we had to sign up they just asked what we thought as parents and asked if anyone wanted get started. The 50 something student is almost a blackbelt and can't even kick higher than their knee cap but are somehow state and district champions? And it was HUGE. I joined a traditional taekwondo school having been trained in both WTF and ITF i had a background in both but immediately saw they were ITF so okay good. Arrogance and abuse of rank is strictly frowned upon. Uniforms are $1,500 cnd and obviously very few can go compete because they can not afford the uniforms :( this makes me mad! For those of you who do not know what this is, go to YouTube and search "Enter the Dojo". An asian girl started training there who went from being a white belt to black belt in around 6 months, moved in with the sensei, went from being 16yrs old to 19yrs old overnight (she said 16 was her Asian age and 19 was her English age!!!). It's only because karateka have en