Later, when I read about his feelings and reasons for leavingit made sense. He was a good friend and will be greatly missed. I was a student manager for four years and was the head manager of the national championship team. Obituaries Section. Thoughts and prayers to you , Dana and family. Superbowl Jets was one my earliest childhood memories. Dana, I'm sure you don't remembr me (it's only been 50 years!!) May you seek comfort in the God of all comfort at this difficult time. Arrangements under the direction of Gebhart-Schmidt-Parramore Funeral Home, Miamisburg, OH. It was clear he loved you because he was always talking about you! Some of Mr. Sauer's concerns about professional football were prophetic, and I hope his death may bring his insights to a new and more receptive audience. Masks and social distancing are required. - Turbotville in. I am in my 60s and was a big Jet Fan in the 60s (not so much now). I admired George, followed every bit of his career, was shocked when he left the game and upset that it was impossible to keep up with his "afterlife". "You are opening your hand and satisfying the desire of every living thing."pslm.145:16.dm. I just heard about it today. This site is provided as a service of SCI Shared Resources, LLC. He caught everything thrown his way.He was a great one. Sign up for service and obituary updates. "RIP George Sauer," former Jets wide receiver Wayne Chrebet wrote on Twitter. Russ went on to a distinguished career in the Insurance business with Allstate Insurance in Albuquerque, NM before becoming President of the Wilson Agency in Chicago, IL. Sauer, a wide receiver on the Jets' only Super Bowl championship team, has died. Russ' first visit to Baja, Mexico and fishing in the Sea of Cortez was in 1962. After moving to Potomac in 1964, George became President of his neighborhood civic association and then President of the Montgomery County Civic Federation. Each pitch looked like a Hoyt Wilhelm knuckleball with strikeouts much more